PliesLately I have been listening to the rapper Plies. At first, I did not know exactly what it was about him that attracted me to his music but I knew it was really catchy. The first song I ever listened to by Plies was “Hypnotized” featuring Akon. This song when it came out was extremely popular mostly because of Akon being on the track. However in 08′ Plies kept getting more and more popular. With the track “Please Excuse My Hands” featuring The-Dream and Jamie Foxx, Plies gains more and more recognition with his work. Also, his latest album entitled Da Realist he has tried to keep the same tone that he has had through the past 2 albums. The lead single from Da Realist is “Put It On Ya”. Mainly I think this song was picked is because it is the most radio friendly.

As with most songs by Plies the content of the songs are about adult subject matter. His subjects range from sex, hard life, and relationships (friends or love). Even though “Put It On Ya” is the most radio friendly doesn’t mean that it is pure of non-offensive material. If you happen to listen to it some of the things he says you definately can’t appeal towards a really young crowd or on the radio. I guess the majority of the reason why I listen to Plies is that he is very blunt with what he has to say. The songs are offensive in some shape or form and that comes with being blunt with what you have to say.

I like Plies a lot. His songs get stuck in your head. For example, the chorus of “Plenty Money” got stuck in my head and at least once a day I sing it because its so simple. He also has many one liners within his music. Sometimes when I listen to him I am amazed with the way he presents situations or words. Plies has a way of putting images in your head while the song is playing and I find that interesting. This is what makes Plies an artist that I will be listening to for quite some time.

-Biz